English, Skin Care

Korean Mask Sheets and their effects

Hello,

so I’d like to dedicate this entry finally to Korean Mask sheets 🙂 I didn’t have the time to post for a week but now I’m here again.

At first, it’s worth mentioning that South Korea is a leading country in cosmetics – so it’s not surprising that they invented the so called “Sheet Masks”.

So what are Sheet Masks?

They are face-shaped sheet fabrics with a lot of nutrition packed in them. There are many different kind of Sheet Masks – depending on the skin care you need.

I will show you some examples by showing the Sheet Masks I’ve got at home and explain what each of their effects are.

These are just the remaining ones I got from my trip to Korea and the ones my mum-in-law sent to me.

So let’s start with the first category!

The Nourishing

In this section I put in the Pomegranate, Acai Berry, Bamboo and the 2 Character Mask sheets which also nourish and soothe the skin.

img_1136

These two as you an see above are by the brand “The Face Shop”, which I highly recommend if you’re thinking of where or by what brand to buy Sheet Masks. They really have tons of different Sheet Masks and they feel really good on your skin. Also, their effect and usage is (always if not mostly) written on English in the front and on the back so you can easily understand it. 🙂

Pomegranate is said to have a super-effect on your skin in terms of restoring your skin’s cells. Plus it helps the defence of your skin to reduce the aging of your skin due to air pollution and stress. If you are looking for these effects in a Sheet Mask, look out for the description as written in font of the mask on the upper right: “탄력” (tanryeok).

Acai Berry also increases the resilience of your skin and even has a higher amount of moisture for your skin! If you’re looking for that type of completion check out this one: “탄력충전” (tanryeok-chungjeon).

img_1137

These two are quite a funny way of Skin care, cause these Sheets will look like these characters on your face. The Sheets in these cases are printed with different animals!

I don’t have so many of those left which my mum-in-law gave to me. Anyways, these two are as you can see on the left nourishing (“탄력영양”, tanryeok-yeongyang, tanryeok means “resilience”, yeongyang means “nourish”) and on the right soothing (“수분진정”, subun-jinjeong, subun means “moisture”, jinjeong means “soothing”). It really depends on what your skin needs but I think they match the best in this category. They are also by The Face Shop. If you’re tending to have dry or sensitive skin these ones are the go for you. In any case, check if this “수분” (subun) is written in front of the mask sheet when you’re considering buying it. It’ll promise to nourish and moisture your skin definitely!

The Bamboo Sheet: I really like to use this Sheet Mask if I have dry skin during winter. It helps your skin to get moisturized again and I also like the formula of the Nature Republic masks in general. I recommend this mask if you’re desperate for a needed moisture for your skin 🙂 Also the effect is “수분” (subun) + “ 청정” (cheongjeong) which means “Moisture + Pureness”. The sheet is not for cleansing your skin of course but it helps the pores to stay clean. If you’re having acne for example, it’s still important to moisture your skin – some people might think it will increase the number of spots though – and this mask provides a cleanance for your skin. Sometimes, if you have dry skin it could be that you get spots: this is a sign that your skin needs moisture asap! Use a sheet mask like this which provides moisture and a clean appearance for your skin. This one is perfect for sensitive and irritated skin.

The Acai Berry sheet: As mentioned before, the Acai Berry mask sheet will help your skin to get moistured and increases the resilience and defence of your skin. I think this one might even be better than the Face Shop one. It’s also written on the front that it helps to reduce fine lines and wrinkles on your skin. I think this Berry is really a bomb, you should be looking out for it!

The Moisturizing

img_1148

 

The four mask sheets I’d consider to be highly moisturizing. The difference to the Nourishing ones is that they might not especially improve the condition and resilience of your skin but just deeply moisturize it.

img_1149

The Shea Butter mask sheet is a little exception in this category: it improves the resilience of your skin but more than that I think it moisturizes the skin. As you can read on the front it provides also nutrition – and that’s what really packed in it! I used this mask sheet quite often to moisture my face. I also used Shea Butter creams for my face quite a lot and I liked it. They have quite a heavy formula but if that’s okay for you then you’re good to go with anything filled with Shea Butter!

img_1151

Green Tea mask sheet! I love Green Tea for skin care. Why? Like in this mask sheet, it hydrates and moisturizes the skin plus it also refreshes it to a high level. I like to use everything with Green Tea in it – day creams, masks, eye creams etc. If you feel like your skin looks a bit dull and you look tired through a longer time – this formula might help you out! You can use anything with Green Tea. The mask sheet also provides an increasement of moisture for your skin around 86%! Use it and you’ll see why it’s so good. 🙂

img_1152

I haven’t used the Olive sheet mask very often (because I don’t like Olives generally that much, lol) but it provides as you can read exra moisture. If your skin is dry to a level where you can peel it off, use a mask that contains Olive extracts like this one. On the upper right you can see “집중” (jibjung) which means “intense” and “보습” (boseub) which means “holding of moisture“.

img_1150

This one is an Aloe mask sheet by the brand Etude House. I guess this is the only mask sheet I have left by EH. As I wrote in another entry I really like the products of EH when it comes to skin care, I can’t say anything about their make-up products yet. This mask sheet in any way provides a “Soothing Relief” (수분진정, subun-jinjeong), smiliar to the other mask sheets of this category. Aloe is literally a moisture bomb and I also enjoy to drink Aloe juice to take care of my skin as well. I love the smell, too! If you’re a beginner with mask sheets then I’d recommend Aloe products in any case! You’ll love it 🙂

The Brightening and Energizing

This category again contains Pomegranate as well as Red Ginseng, Royal Jelly (Honey) and a high-quality Hydrogel mask sheet I got from my mum-in-law. I’ll just skip the Pomegranate one but I put in this category since Pomegranate energizes your skin in terms of its defence in my opinion!

img_1155

The Red Ginseng Sheet: Until now everything I’ve tried with Red Ginseng was energizing in any way possible. I’ve used several masks with Red Ginseng in it and it provides to revitalize tired-looking and dull skin. Also it’s very present in Korean medicine. There are vitalizing snacks such as dried Red Ginseng. It’s said to revitalize the body and stimulates its circulation of blood. So its effect is definitely to go from tired to awake! It feels like coffein for your skin. I haven’t used it that often until now but I can agree on that effect – I also like these medicines with Red Ginseng in it – even though its benefit is not yet proven in the Western researches.

img_1157

The Royal Jelly mask sheet by Nature Republic. This quite expensive and rare part of honey is a good content of this mask sheet. It also offers an anti-aging effect since its said to decrease the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles such as the Acai Berry of the same brand. Like the Pomegranate, Royal Jelly or Honey in general is said to improve the resilience of your skin. And surely, who doesn’t like the smell of honey 🙂

img_1156

Maybe this one is a bit hard to get but I’d like to write something about it. This is the Multi Pefection 100 Hydrogel Mask by Cel-Derma. This brand is very well-developed in terms of dermatology. Its a bit more expensive than the mask sheets I showed you by the other brands. I’ve put it in this category since, as you can read on the front, it promises a Wrinkle Care & Whitening Care. Its also hydrating, firming and nourishing as well. If you’re a starter with mask sheets then maybe you shouldn’t mind so much – you’ll do very good with the other masks as well. Also there is no English written on the back unfortunately. But if you’re ever in Korea or have the chance to get mask sheets by dermatological companies then you should try to.This mask sheet did stick to my face like no other (sometimes they tend to fall off even if you’re lying in bed).

The funny ones

IMG_1164.JPG

You’ll also find masks that are just good to your skin – like these ones – but don’t suggest for which skin type they do match. Anyways you’ll do fine when using them plus its funny and worth some selfies 🙂

The girly one

img_1162.jpg

One of my favorite sheet masks is the Rose one. If your skin looks dull it gives back your natural and youthful skin tone/teint. Also elderly people like to use it to regain their younger skin tone. I really like how it turns your skin into a real lovely tone.

 

I think I will write another seperate blog entry for the skin food masks cause they are quite worth their own entry.

So if you’re about to buy Korean mask sheets but aren’t sure which one you need and which ones are good for you, here’s a short summary.

  • You need moisture? Try to find mask sheets on which anything with “수분” (subun) is written, if its not written in English there. Otherwise, the following extracts will be good for you: Aloe, Shea Butter, Olive, Bamboo, Green Tea.
  • Your skin should look vitalized? Try Red Ginseng, Green Tea or Rose extracts. They’ll wake you up and give you a nice teint. The best description on the mask sheet would be “영양” (yeongyang).
  • You need anti-aging? “탄력” (tanryeok) with Pomegranate, Rose, Acai Berry and Honey. They are said to make you look younger on the long way. Or at least they’ll help you to avoid any faster aging?

 

I hope this helped you a little bit. See you when I give you more advices!

 

3 thoughts on “Korean Mask Sheets and their effects”

  1. Great post! I always have a hard time choosing what sheet mask to use because I’m always confused on what they do (most of them has the same English description in the back, and that does not give much help.) your post gave me better ideas on which sheet masks to use next 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I’m just establishing this blog but I hope the information I’ll provide in the future will help people out to decide which Korean skin care products they might need. 🙂 if you have any further questions, feel free to contact me!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sure thing! I also blog about skincare, but it’s more on talking about my experience with the product–more personal. Lol. Thus I will need help from blogs like yours to know which products to try next 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

